Oregon · incident record

Ruggs Fire, Oregon

1,300

Acres reported

Not reported

Contained

0

Acres since yesterday

Last listed active · no longer in the NIFC WFIGS active-fire feed · awareness only — follow local authorities

Update ·

As of Sep 15, 2026, 19:00 UTC, the Ruggs Fire is no longer listed in the federal active-fire feed at 1,300 acres, in Morrow County, Oregon.

No change in reported size since Sep 14, 2026, 18:45 UTC.

The most recent mapped perimeter (Sep 3, 2026, 21:12 UTC) covers 1,311 acres; the mapped perimeter has been updated 2 times since the fire began.

No satellite heat detections matched to this incident in the last 24 hours (last one Aug 31, 2026, 21:50 UTC).

It was last present in the feed Sep 15, 2026, 19:00 UTC; the largest size reported was 1,300 acres. This page stays up as a record of the incident.

Ruggs Fire map

The most recent mapped perimeter (solid) and the previous day's perimeter (dashed), with the reported point of origin.

Latest perimeter   Previous perimeter   ·   Perimeters come from the WFIGS interagency perimeter service and are usually mapped once a day; the mapped area can differ from the reported acreage.

Key facts

Size
1,300 acres
Containment
not reported
Status
Not in feed (last seen Sep 15, 2026)
Discovered
Aug 31, 2026
Location
Morrow County, Oregon
Origin point
45.2534, -119.6907
Perimeter mapped
Sep 3, 2026 (44 days ago)
Satellite heat, 24 h
none matched

Nearest towns

Distances are from the reported point of origin, not from the fire’s edge (see the perimeter map for the current extent).

  • Heppner, OR9.4 mi NE of the origin · pop. 1,287
  • Boardman, OR41 mi N of the origin · pop. 3,354
  • Stanfield, OR43 mi NE of the origin · pop. 2,082
  • Pilot Rock, OR45 mi E of the origin · pop. 1,513
  • Hermiston, OR45 mi NE of the origin · pop. 17,201

Other fires nearby

No other wildfires listed within 50 miles right now.

All Oregon wildfires →

Ruggs Fire timeline

Day by day: the largest size and containment reported each UTC day, from our 15-minute archive of the federal feed (first seen Sep 3, 2026, 01:15 UTC).

Day (UTC)Reported sizeChangeContained
Sep 15, 20261,300 acres0—
Sep 14, 20261,300 acres0—
Sep 13, 20261,300 acres0—
Sep 12, 20261,300 acres0—
Sep 11, 20261,300 acres0—
Sep 10, 20261,300 acres0—
Sep 9, 20261,300 acres0—
Sep 7, 20261,300 acres0—
Sep 6, 20261,300 acres0—
Sep 5, 20261,300 acres0—
Sep 4, 20261,300 acres0—
Sep 3, 20261,300 acres——

Get an email when a new fire starts near you

Free. One email per new fire within the distance you choose of the address you pick. Unsubscribe with one click. Not an emergency service — always follow local authorities.

Responsible for more than a few addresses?

FireRiskHere Watch monitors a whole portfolio — rentals, an HOA, a book of business — and alerts you by distance when a new fire is reported.

Meet Watch

Ruggs Fire questions, answered from the data

How big is the Ruggs Fire?

As of Sep 15, 2026, 19:00 UTC, the Ruggs Fire is reported at 1,300 acres. No change in reported size since Sep 14, 2026, 18:45 UTC.

Is the Ruggs Fire contained?

Containment has not been reported for the Ruggs Fire in the federal feed as of Sep 15, 2026, 19:00 UTC.

Where is the Ruggs Fire?

The reported point of origin is at 45.2534, -119.6907 in Morrow County, Oregon. Nearest towns: Heppner (9.4 mi NE), Boardman (41 mi N), Stanfield (43 mi NE). The map on this page shows the most recent mapped perimeter.

Is the Ruggs Fire still burning?

It is no longer in the federal active-fire feed; it was last listed Sep 15, 2026, 19:00 UTC. Fires drop out of the feed when the incident is closed or handed to local management, not necessarily when every ember is out.

What is the timeline of the Ruggs Fire?

The Ruggs Fire was first listed in the federal feed Sep 3, 2026, 01:15 UTC (reported discovery date Aug 31, 2026). It was last listed Sep 15, 2026, 19:00 UTC, after peaking at 1,300 acres. The timeline table on this page shows the size and containment reported each UTC day across 12 days of archive.

Where do I find evacuation orders for the Ruggs Fire?

From the county sheriff and local emergency management, not from this site. Check the official Oregon sources on our Oregon page and your county’s alert system. FireRiskHere is for awareness only.

How current is this page?

The numbers come from the National Interagency Fire Center's WFIGS incident feed and the WFIGS perimeter service, refreshed every 15 minutes, plus NASA FIRMS satellite detections hourly. This page was last updated Sep 15, 2026, 19:00 UTC. Acreage and containment are what the incident team reports and can lag by hours.

About this page

This page is generated automatically for every wildfire whose reported size reaches 1,000 acres, from FireRiskHere’s archive of the National Interagency Fire Center’s WFIGS incident feed (captured every 15 minutes), the WFIGS interagency perimeter service, and NASA FIRMS satellite detections. It stays online after the fire is contained as a record of the incident. Nothing here is an official notice — for evacuation orders and road closures follow your county sheriff and local emergency management. How the site works →